McDonald's Cookie Campaign

Gary Wright Humanitarian Award

The Gary Wright Humanitarian Award was established in honour of Gary Wright, the founder of We Care, and is presented to a member of the Foodservice and Hospitality Industry who has contributed to the improvement of the community at large.

2022 Winner – Jim Greenway

Jim Greenway’s love of camping started long before his association with We Care. As a youth he would spend every summer as a camper, councilor, or program director. Those roots helped guide him to be the leader and supporter he is today.


When Jim started his career at Aramark, he led a team, that in 1982, poured the first beer ever served in a Canadian stadium. It was Exhibition Stadium, the home of the Toronto Blue Jays. Jim quickly advanced through the ranks at Aramark to hold senior Vice President roles in three major lines of business across Canada. He worked tirelessly to deliver exceptional financial results and build strong performance teams in food services at stadiums, race tracks, golf clubs, ski resorts and many onsite business locations including Manulife, Rogers and Royal Bank.


In 2013 Jim retired from Aramark to spend time with his 3 children and 10 grandchildren. He then started consulting in food and beverage for golf courses, eventually joining Dana Hospitality in business development and operations.


Jim served on the We Care Board of Directors from 2006 until 2020 including a period as Chair. Jim was able to engage at the highest levels in the foodservice industry to promote the message of devoting time to care for others.


We Care would like to thank and congratulate Jim Greenway on being the recipient of the 2022 Gary Wright Humanitarian Award.

Past Winners of the Gary Wright Humanitarian Award:

  • 2021 Deborah Jackson
  • 2020 Brent Morning
  • 2019 Mr. Michel Lamy (P)
  • 2018 Mr. Brent Cator
  • 2017 Mr. Kevin Collins
  • 2016 Ms. Bernice Blomme
  • 2015 Mr. Kevin Frankish
  • 2014 Mr. David Abrams
  • 2013 Mr. Don LeBlanc
  • 2012 Mr. Mark Cator
  • 2011 Mr. Eddie Sokoloff
  • 2010 Ms. Carol Moffatt-Bailes
  • 2009 Mr. Brian Orr
  • 2008 Mr. Hugh Kelly, Mr. Dave Wilcox (P)
  • 2007 Mr. Peter Noble (P)
  • 2006 Mr. Terry Lindermann
  • 2005 Ms. Virgina (Gini) Norris
  • 2004 Mr. Jim Grieb
  • 2003 Mr. Jim MacPherson
  • 2002 Mr. Sheldon Kofsky
  • 2001 Mr. Grant Gillard
  • 2000 Mr. Gary Marshall
  • 1999 Mr. Len Lundberg (P)
  • 1998 Ms. Kathy Starr
  • 1997 Mr. Robert McNutt
  • 1996 Mr. Bruce Curtis
  • 1995 Mr. Dick Burgess (P)
  • 1993 Mr. Ted Graham
  • 1992 Mr. Harrison McCain, Mr. Wallace McCain
  • 1991 Mr. Ron Joyce
  • 1989 Mr. Gray Steele
  • 1988 Mr. Bill Farr
  • 1987 Mr. Gary Wright (P)


The charity of choice of the Foodservice and Hospitality industry helping send kids with disABILITIES to accessible summer camps.




453 Signet Drive, North York, ON M9L 1V5


Email: [email protected]


Phone: 905.841.1223


Charitable Registration # 86205 7569 RR0001

Sign up for our Newsletter